## **BERNARDO DE GALVEZ CHAPTER #1**

## **November Minutes**

## Present:

John Hamlin – President	Bobby O'Bryan
Pete Lenes – Registrar	Mrs. Mayet O'Bryan
David Garza - Assist. Registrar	Gene Shaner – Treasurer
Marsha Shaner	Andrew Griffs
Jim Cantrell	Bill Hall
Larry Tidwell – Color Guard Commander	Bill Adriance

Meeting was called to order at Noon by President Hamlin

Invocation and pledges to US, Texas and SAR flags was let by Chaplain Hamlin

Introductions were made by all

President Hamlin presented Andrew Griffs with a Military Service Lapel button

and Bobby O'Bryan with a Vietnam Service lapel pin.

Lunch was served.

Bill Adriance gave a summary of the presentation he made in Washington D.C. last week to the Spanish Ambassador and 25 Spanish company CEOs about Galveston and the proposed Bernardo de Galvez Statue.

President Hamlin presented Bill Adriance with the Chapter Distinguished Service Medal. He then presented Bobby O'Bryan with his 5-year membership lapel pin.

Secretaries report was sent electronically for the October meeting by John Hamlin standing in for John Loper. Motion was made and seconded to accept the report.

Treasurers and Registrars report were given.

Gene Shaner gave a brief report on Wreaths across America on December 15 at the La Marque Cemetery. Our Chapter, DAR and the C.A.R will participate.

Dicken's on the strand is December 1. We will have 2 carriages. We will meet a Landry's Seafood 53rrd and Seawall Blvd. for lunch at 110 am then proceed to the Historic house at 15<sup>th</sup> and Post Office Street. We will then proceed to the Railroad Museum for the Parade. New officers Installation will take place at Landry's with Texas SAR state President Tom Jackson presiding.

Motion was made by Larry Tidwell and seconded to ask the state BOM to have the 2021 state BOM in Galveston to commemorate the 125<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of the Texas SAR. Motion made and Seconded and passed unanimously. President Hamlin will contact state officials to arrange meeting.

Following officers were recommended by the Executive Board for 2019.

Bill Adriance - President

Bill Mayo - 1sat Vice President

John Loper - 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President

Hugh Fergusson - 3<sup>rd</sup> Vice President

John Hamlin – Secretary

David Garza – Registrar

Gene Shaner - Treasurer

Larry Tidwell - Parliamentarian, Chaplain and Color Guard Commander

Clark Wright - Webmaster

There being no further nominations from the floor motion was made and seconded to accept these recommendations. Motion passed.

President Hamlin went over the officer structure for SAR for National, state and chapter for New Member orientation.

Meeting adjourned at 1:45 p.m.

John Hamlin, for

John Loper, Secretary

Bernardo de Galvez Chapter #1

**Texas SAR**